Life of a Workspace
Gitpod makes creating fresh workspaces as easy as clicking a button on a GitHub page. In most cases it is easier to create fresh workspaces rather than going back to older ones. See the dashboard documentation on where to find your workspace history and how to restart the older workspaces.
Any running workspace will automatically stop after 30 minutes of inactivity. Activity is triggered by any action in the IDE; moving the mouse is enough. If the IDE is still open, but the corresponding workspace has stopped, a dialog will pop up that lets you start the workspace again.
For convenience, closing the browser window/tab containing the IDE reduces the timeout to 5 minutes.
Stop and Archive
If you want more control over your Gitpod hours, you can stop your workspace explicitly. To
do so, click on the avatar in the top right and choose the
Stop Workspace command (also available
through the command palette). The dialog will ask if you want to archive the workspace. By default,
archived workspaces are not shown in the workspace list of the dashboard and will not be considered
when starting a fresh workspace for the same context URL.
Workspaces can also be stopped, started, archived, and unarchived from the dashboard.
Changes are Saved
Gitpod continuously backs up the current state of the workspace's repository in the cloud, so that you can revisit it later. Files in other locations will not be saved. Gitpod never deletes a workspace. See dashboard for details.
Starting: Initial and Restart
Gitpod workspaces have two start modes, for which you can configure dedicated tasks on startup:
Read more about how to configure tasks in configuring start tasks.